Search AIMP site
Job Offerings
Industry News
Latin Corner

Copyright Corner

visit members area Join the Music Professionals Learn about membership tiers you can join. AIMP Upcoming Events
ny NYC3 Bi-Monthly Meeting
  If you would like to attend please email newyorkcitycreativecommunity@gmail.com.… View Event
ny AIMP Special Event: Women In the Studio
 Thanks to our exclusive bank sponsors     … View Event
Mark your calendars and stay tuned for additional panel details!… View Event
nash 5th Annual AIMP Nashville Songwriter Series
We hope you'll join us for our 5th Annual AIMP Nashville Songwriter Series! This event welcomes all AIMP Nashville Chapter memb… View Event
View All Upcoming Events

August News

  • View Webcasts of Panels – One of the many benefits of membership is our archive of past panels. If you missed the LA July panel BEHIND THE WRITER: The Evolving Role of A&R in Publishing, Members can view the video, as well as all archives, here. All are welcome to view a sampling of video clips here.
  • On July 5th, Teri Nelson-Carpenter, AIMP National Chair and LA Chapter President; Alisa Coleman, AIMP NY Chapter President; and John Ozier, AIMP Nashville Chapter President, released a joint statement on the U.S Copyright Office’s decision on MLC governance. We are happy they chose to select the NMPA, NSAI, and SONA-backed proposal, featuring Coleman as Board Chair. Read the full statement in Billboard and Music Week.
  • AIMP's NY Chapter will present the prestigious 2019 New York Chapter Indie Award to independent music publisher Atlas Music Publishing, its CEO/Founder Richard Stumpf, and its COO/Partner Phil Cialdella.  The presentation will take place at the Chapter’s annual Holiday Party, which will be held December 4 at 5:30 PM at the National Arts Club in New York City.
  • Teri Nelson Carpenter, National Chair and LA Chapter President of the AIMP & Reel Muzik Werks President & CEO, will be speaking on a global Music Publisher Round Table panel at Imbizo in Durban, South Africa on August 30th, along with Karabo Motijoane (Sheer Publishing – South Africa), John Bartmann (John Bartmann Music – South Africa) and Jerome Galabart (Sakifo Records – Reunion Islands).
  • The ASCAP Foundation, led by President Paul Williams, and Newport Festivals Foundation, Inc., led by Founder & Chairman George Wein, continue their joint effort to promote emerging jazz talent for the fourth consecutive year.  The Festival, one of the world’s most respected showcases for jazz, will feature a performance by composer and pianist Ben Morris, a recipient of the 2019 ASCAP Foundation Herb Alpert Young Jazz Composer Award.  Read more about it here
  • The Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame has announced that it will induct BMI songwriters Larry Gatlin, Dwight Yoakam, Marcus Hummon and Kostas to its prestigious hall of fame on Monday, October 14, at the Music City Center. The new inductees will join the 213 existing members of the elite organization, which celebrates the best of Nashville’s legendary songwriters.  Read more about it here
  • SESAC affiliate Jamie Floyd recently performed for members of the Congressional Songwriters Caucus, led by Rep. Ted Deutch (D-FL) and Rep. Martha Roby (R-AL). The bipartisan caucus was relaunched to serve as a forum for Congress to engage with America’s songwriters and explore policy issues that affect their often-unrecognized contribution to the music industry.  Read more about it here
  • Follow Us - And don't forget to follow the AIMP on Twitter, like us on Facebook and join us on LinkedIn.


View All AIMP News
AIMP Member Spotlight

Rell Lafargue / Reservoir

As President and Chief Operating Officer of independent music company Reservoir, Rell oversees all aspects of the company’s day-to-day operations in New York, Los Angeles, Nashville, London, and Toronto. When Rell joined Reservoir at its inception, the company represented four songwriters and 2,000 songs. Building on over twenty years of industry experience, he built the company’s infrastructure, established its administration systems, and developed the international network that oversees Reservoir’s copyrights to this day. Under his direction, Reservoir has grown to represent over 1000 songwriters and over 110,000 compositions worldwide, while maintaining a regular Top 10 U.S. Market Share. The company was named Publisher of the Year at Music Business Worldwide’s The A&R Awards and was honored with AIMP’s NY Indie Award, in addition to celebrating 2019 Grammy wins for Song and Record of the Year, among other accolades. Prior to his time at Reservoir, Rell was Vice President at TVT Records and TVT Music Publishing, where he worked with artists including Nine Inch Nails, Lil Jon, Snoop Dogg, Scott Storch, and Pitbull. In addition to serving on the board for AIMP’s New York Chapter, Rell was appointed to the NMPA’s Operations Advisory Committee for the Mechanical Licensing Collective and he also serves on the board of the Canadian Music Publishers Association. Beyond his career in music publishing, Rell is an accomplished producer, performer, arranger, software consultant, and university lecturer. He holds a master’s degree in Music Business and Entertainment Industries from the University of Miami.

Login now to register for events and access your members area.
AIMP Twitter follow page AIMP Linked In group page AIMP Facebook page
Calendar of Events
Members Blog Posts
China Search Press Release: Musicinfo checks for free whether music is available in China
by M. Finland
View Full Post

8th edition of Todd & Jeff Brabec's seminal book - Music Money and Success is now available
by L. Redwing
View Full Post

See all Posts
AIMP Supports The MMA's MLC In a recently issued joint statement, the Association of Independent Music Publishers officials --National Chair and Los Angeles C …

View More

The Music Modernization Act H.R. 1551 (formerly S. 2823), the Orrin G. Hatch-Bob Goodlatte Music Modernization Act: The bill was signed into law on October 11 …

View More