Search AIMP site
Job Offerings
Industry News
Latin Corner

Copyright Corner


October 29, 2015

Time: 11:30AM-1:00PM

Publishing - the New A&R ?


Attendees must register (and pay where applicable) to be considered RSVPed.


Some of this year’s biggest success stories started with publisher A&R development.  Join us for a discussion with some of Nashville’s top independent publishers Michael McAnally Baum, Ree Guyer Buchanan, Rusty Gaston, John Ozier, Kos Weaver and their label projects –


BMG Chrysalis – Alabama

ole – Josh Dorr / Sam Grow / Jordan Davis

SMACKsongs – Brandy Clark / Old Dominion

THiS Music – Drew Baldridge

Wrensong Music – Old Dominion 




THANK YOU as always to our main sponsor Fifth Third Bank !!


Michael McAnally Baum
Bus. Affairs / SMACKsongs

Rusty Gaston
Partner & GM / THiS Music

John Ozier
GM / ole

Kos Weaver
Ex VP / BMG Chrysalis

Ree Guyer Buchanan
Owner / Wrensong Music


Marc Driskill
VP & GM / Sea Gayle Music

AIMP Panel

Place: View Map
ASCAP - Connie Bradley Board Room
2 Music Square West
Nashville, TN 37203

Most AIMP panels are free (and others heavily discounted) to members.  If you wish to become an AIMP member, you can join here.  Base level membership is $75.00.  Should you have any issues, email NAinfo@aimp.org for assistance.

Please note that ASCAP no longer has parking in their garage available to luncheons. Those attending may park in the outside lot (limited spots available) or on the street.

Additional Speaker Information

MICHAEL McANALLY BAUM is Business Affairs at SMACK, which includes SMACKSongs, a independent music publisher that represents 7 songwriters and 16 #1 songs (Including the 2013 GRAMMY Country Song of the Year, “Merry Go Round” and 2015 CMA Song of the Year “Follow Your Arrow”). SMACKProductions, represents Shane McAnally as a producer and his work with Kacey Musgraves, Kelly Clarkson, Jake Owen, Sam Hunt and Old Dominion. He was key in the creation of ReeSMACK Records with Wrensong/Ree Guyer Buchanan which was the initial independent label for Old Dominion prior to their signing with RCA.

RUSTY GASTON - Passion and enthusiasm are the fuel that fires this Texas native. As Partner and General Manager of THIS Music, Rusty oversees all creative and day to day operations of the publishing company he owns with partners/songwriters Tim Nichols and Connie Harrington. THiS Music has celebrated more than 30 ASCAP/BMI award winning songs, since the company’s launch in 2006. THiS Music publishes the 2014 ACM & 2013 CMA Song of The Year “I Drive Your Truck”, as well as the 2014 ASCAP Song Of The Year “It Goes Like This”, the 2012 ASCAP Song of the Year “Honey Bee” and the 2011 BMI Song Of The Year “All Over Me”. The company also celebrated ASCAP Songwriter Of The Year honors in 2011 and 2012 with songwriter Ben Hayslip.

JOHN OZIER is ole’s General Manager, Creative in Nashville. Ozier brings a wealth of experience in operating publishing and record label businesses to the role. Ozier has been responsible for #1s by Rodney Atkins (“Take A Back Road”), Lee Brice (“A Woman Like You,” “Hard To Love,” and “I Drive Your Truck,” which won ACM Song Of The Year”), Justin Moore (“Lettin’ The Night Roll”) and Brantley Gilbert (“One Hell Of An Amen”). He is also a hit songwriter, having co-written Lee Brice’s multi-week No. 1 and Platinum single, “Hard to Love” and Tyler Farr's #1 and Gold Single, "Whiskey In My Water.” Ozier is a member of the ACM, CMA, and The Recording Academy. He was recently elected to the Board of the AIMP. He is a graduate of the Scarlett Leadership Program at Belmont University and graduated from Leadership Music in 2012.

KOS WEAVER brings nearly 30 years of experience to his new role overseeing Nashville operations for BMG. His pervious tenures include Paul Overstreet’s Scarlet Moon Music, Reba McEntire’s Starstruck Writers Group and Vice President posts at Disney Music Publishing and Warner/Chappell Music. His early career as a touring musician eventually led to working with and developing top songwriters and artists including Dave Berg, Jim Collins, Tim James, Wynn Varble, Brantley Gilbert and Canaan Smith.

REE GUYER BUCHANAN - Wrensong is one of the top independent publishing companies on Music Row. Guided by the leadership of President/Co-Owner, Ree Guyer Buchanan, and its own in-house administrative staff, the catalog contains over 3,000 copyrights with five staff writers and artists. Ree has focused on developing a catalog of unique, special songs like “Where’ve You Been” and “How Can I Help You Say Goodbye” and “Whiskey Lullaby” - all Grammy/CMA nominated Songs of the Year. The Wrensong catalog includes over 15 #1 Hits including: “Better Dig Two” (The Band Perry), “Hell on Heels” (Pistol Annie’s), “Wild One” (Faith Hill), “Gonna Take A Lot of River” (Oak Ridge Boys), “Heart Like Mine” (Miranda), “Drink On it” (Blake Shelton) “Am I the Only One” (Dierks Bentley), “The Truth” (Jason Aldean), "Sangria" (Blake Shelton), "Say You Do" (Dierks Bentley) and album cuts by many other major label acts from Ray Charles to Dixie Chicks - selling over 50 million albums. In the last few years, Ree has focused on artist development. She has helped Ashley Monroe and Jon Randall secure their label deals and currently working with new Sony Records act Old Dominion.

Login now to register for events and access your members area.
AIMP Twitter follow page AIMP Linked In group page AIMP Facebook page
Calendar of Events
Members Blog Posts
Spanish Podcast: moduloMUni2
by M. Mejia
View Full Post

Concord Music buys Fania Records
by M. Mejia
View Full Post

See all Posts
The Music Modernization Act H.R. 1551 (formerly S. 2823), the Orrin G. Hatch-Bob Goodlatte Music Modernization Act: The bill was signed into law on October 11 …

View More

Copyright Alliance Commends Supporters of Marrakesh Treaty   …

View More