Search AIMP site
Job Offerings
Industry News
Latin Corner

Copyright Corner

 View All
Press Release by AIMP organization
Press Run Date - December 7, 2017

The New York Chapter’s “Holiday Party & Indie Awards Presentation” was held December 4 at The Princeton Club of New York. In addition to commemorating the AIMP’s 40th anniversary, the event also featured the presentation of 2017 New York Chapter Indie Awards to Congressman Jerrold Nadler and Downtown Music Publishing CEO Justin Kalifowitz. Congressman Nadler, who accepted via video presentation (which can be viewed by clicking here), was lauded as a leader for his sponsorship of national legislation supporting music publishers. Mr. Kalifowitz was selected for leading Downtown to explosive worldwide growth, founding online administration platform Songtrust, and helping organize the inaugural New York Music Month this past June via his advocacy coalition NY Is Music. The rock band White Denim also performed an acoustic set.


The AIMP New York Chapter Board of Directors. From left: Debbie Rose (Shapiro Bernstein & Co); AIMP NY Executive Director Alisa Coleman (ABKCO Music, Inc.); Phil Cialdella (Atlas Music Publishing); Julie Lipsius (Lipservices); Merril Wasserman-Serling (Kobalt Music Publishing  America); Keith D’Arcy (SONGS Music Publishing); Mark Spier (Memory Lane Music Group); Joyce Dollinger, Esq.; AIMP NY Treasurer Steve White, C.P.A. (Janover, LLC); Andrew Bergman (Downtown Music Publishing); AIMP NY Secretary Arthur Levy, Esq. (Spirit Music Group); and Michael Simon (Harry Fox Agency).


The Los Angeles Chapter’s “Holiday Awards, Mixer, Benefit & 40th Anniversary Celebration” was held December 7 at Candela La Brea in Los Angeles. In addition to gathering most of the AIMP’s past presidents in one room, the event featured the presentation of the Chapter’s 2017 Indie Publisher of the Year award to Kenny MacPherson’s Big Deal Music Group (with a surprise and heartfelt introduction by songwriter/producer and Big Deal writer Dan Wilson) and its 2017 Special Individual Award presentation to NMPA President & CEO David Israelite. While Israelite could not attend in person, he did send a recorded video accepting his award (which can be viewed by clicking here). There were also live performances from EDM duo Loud Luxury, American Idol finalist Anthony Fedorov (with guest appearances by Jennifer Paz and Anthea), and Frankie J.


AIMP past presidents with 40th anniversary cake. From left: Kathy Spanberger (peermusic); Steven Lowy, Esq.; current AIMP President Michael Eames (PEN Music Group, Inc.); Mary Jo Mennella (Music Asset Management and Pulse Music Administration); David Hirshland (BMG); Cathy Merenda (Fox Music); and Richard Feldman (Artists First Music).

Login now to register for events and access your members area.
AIMP Twitter follow page AIMP Linked In group page AIMP Facebook page
Calendar of Events
Members Blog Posts
by M. Vice
View Full Post

by P. Gills
View Full Post

See all Posts
AIMP Supports The MMA's MLC In a recently issued joint statement, the Association of Independent Music Publishers officials --National Chair and Los Angeles C …

View More

The Music Modernization Act H.R. 1551 (formerly S. 2823), the Orrin G. Hatch-Bob Goodlatte Music Modernization Act: The bill was signed into law on October 11 …

View More