Search AIMP site
Job Offerings
Industry News
Latin Corner

Copyright Corner

View All News Articles
February 5, 2019

February News

  • AIMP 2019-2020 Board Elections - The biennial election of officers and board members for all chapters is now complete.  Please join us in welcoming those who are returning to serve, as well as those who are serving for the first time.  And we also thank those who ran for office but weren't elected.  We appreciate your support!  
  • AIMP Releases Statement on MLC Board & Committees Announcement The NMPA invited the Association of Independent Music Publishers (AIMP) to take an active role in selecting the Mechanical Licensing Collective (MLC) board and committees. Julie Lipsius representing NY, John Ozier from Nashville, and Teri Nelson Carpenter from LA were an integral part of the nominating committee for the indie publisher representatives, and we were pleased to see so many qualified executives from our sector participate in the process. Today, the NMPA announced the final selections, and we’re pleased to see past and current AIMP board members on the Board and committees:
    MLC Board of Directors:
    Alisa Coleman, ABKCO Music & Records, Inc. (AIMP NY President)
    Rell LaFargue, Reservoir Media Management (AIMP NY Board Member)
    Mike Molinar, Big Machine Music (AIMP Nashville Board Member)
    Bob Bruderman, Kobalt
    Tim Cohan, peermusic (past AIMP LA Board Member)
    Scott Cutler, Pulse Music Group (2018 AIMP LA Music Publisher of the Year)
    Evelyn Paglinawan, Concord Music
    MLC Unclaimed Royalties Oversight Committee:

    Phil Cialdella, Atlas Music Publishing (AIMP NY Board Member)
    Patrick Curley, Third Side Music
    Michael Eames, PEN Music Group (past AIMP LA President/Founding Chair)
    Frank Liwall, The Royalty Network Inc.
    Kathryn Ostien, The Richmond Organization (TRO)
    MLC Dispute Resolution Committee:

    Debbie Rose, Shapiro Bernstein (AIMP NY Board Member)
    Alison Koerper, Disney Music
    Ed Leonard, Daywind
    Sean McGraw, Downtown
    Jason Rys, Wixen Music
    MLC Operations Advisory Committee:

    Rell LaFargue, Reservoir Media Management (AIMP NY Board Member)
    Michael Lau, Round Hill Music (AIMP NY Board Member)
    Joe Conyers III, Songtrust
  • Member Discounts - don't forget to look for your member discounts, including an AIMP member discount for SXSW 2019, a new discount for Music Biz 2019 and other discounts to ASCAP EXPO, MUSEXPO et. al, in the Member Discounts area, and if you’re not a member yet - join to get access to these!
  • Meet LA Chapter featured member Michael Eames, president of the PEN Music Group and past president of the AIMP LA/National Chapter (2015 - 2018) at www.aimp.org (scroll down).  
  • Downtown Music Publishing's digital rights management platform Songtrust is further extending its global reach -- and helping entrepreneurial songwriters and producers get paid -- in a new partnership with artist-first music streaming platform Audiomack. 
  • More than 50,000 books, films and songs are now in the public domain.  Read more about them here.  
  • ASCAP - Eight of its members are recognized with Oscar nominations.  Read more about them here.  
  • BMI - Congratulates its 2019 Oscar Nominees.  Read more about them here.  
  • SESAC affiliate Kenny Lattimore's foundation is hosting its first LA Fundraising Concert benefiting schools in the Los Angeles and Washington D.C. markets.  Read more about them here.  
  • Follow Us - And don't forget to follow the AIMP on Twitter, like us on Facebook and join us on LinkedIn.

Login now to register for events and access your members area.
AIMP Twitter follow page AIMP Linked In group page AIMP Facebook page
Calendar of Events
Members Blog Posts
Free Event 7/15, 5pm CDT w/ publishers Shar'n Clark & Sherrill Blackman
by N. Deckant
View Full Post

Synchtank launches Royalty Accounting Platform IRIS
by J. Jordan
View Full Post

See all Posts
AIMP Supports The MMA's MLC In a recently issued joint statement, the Association of Independent Music Publishers officials --National Chair and Los Angeles C …

View More

The Music Modernization Act H.R. 1551 (formerly S. 2823), the Orrin G. Hatch-Bob Goodlatte Music Modernization Act: The bill was signed into law on October 11 …

View More