Search AIMP site
Job Offerings
Industry News
Latin Corner

Copyright Corner

View All News Articles
August 20, 2019

August News

  • View Webcasts of Panels – One of the many benefits of membership is our archive of past panels. If you missed the LA July panel BEHIND THE WRITER: The Evolving Role of A&R in Publishing, Members can view the video, as well as all archives, here. All are welcome to view a sampling of video clips here.
  • On July 5th, Teri Nelson-Carpenter, AIMP National Chair and LA Chapter President; Alisa Coleman, AIMP NY Chapter President; and John Ozier, AIMP Nashville Chapter President, released a joint statement on the U.S Copyright Office’s decision on MLC governance. We are happy they chose to select the NMPA, NSAI, and SONA-backed proposal, featuring Coleman as Board Chair. Read the full statement in Billboard and Music Week.
  • AIMP's NY Chapter will present the prestigious 2019 New York Chapter Indie Award to independent music publisher Atlas Music Publishing, its CEO/Founder Richard Stumpf, and its COO/Partner Phil Cialdella.  The presentation will take place at the Chapter’s annual Holiday Party, which will be held December 4 at 5:30 PM at the National Arts Club in New York City.
  • Teri Nelson Carpenter, National Chair and LA Chapter President of the AIMP & Reel Muzik Werks President & CEO, will be speaking on a global Music Publisher Round Table panel at Imbizo in Durban, South Africa on August 30th, along with Karabo Motijoane (Sheer Publishing – South Africa), John Bartmann (John Bartmann Music – South Africa) and Jerome Galabart (Sakifo Records – Reunion Islands).
  • The ASCAP Foundation, led by President Paul Williams, and Newport Festivals Foundation, Inc., led by Founder & Chairman George Wein, continue their joint effort to promote emerging jazz talent for the fourth consecutive year.  The Festival, one of the world’s most respected showcases for jazz, will feature a performance by composer and pianist Ben Morris, a recipient of the 2019 ASCAP Foundation Herb Alpert Young Jazz Composer Award.  Read more about it here
  • The Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame has announced that it will induct BMI songwriters Larry Gatlin, Dwight Yoakam, Marcus Hummon and Kostas to its prestigious hall of fame on Monday, October 14, at the Music City Center. The new inductees will join the 213 existing members of the elite organization, which celebrates the best of Nashville’s legendary songwriters.  Read more about it here
  • SESAC affiliate Jamie Floyd recently performed for members of the Congressional Songwriters Caucus, led by Rep. Ted Deutch (D-FL) and Rep. Martha Roby (R-AL). The bipartisan caucus was relaunched to serve as a forum for Congress to engage with America’s songwriters and explore policy issues that affect their often-unrecognized contribution to the music industry.  Read more about it here
  • Follow Us - And don't forget to follow the AIMP on Twitter, like us on Facebook and join us on LinkedIn.


Login now to register for events and access your members area.
AIMP Twitter follow page AIMP Linked In group page AIMP Facebook page
Calendar of Events
Members Blog Posts
Free Event 7/15, 5pm CDT w/ publishers Shar'n Clark & Sherrill Blackman
by N. Deckant
View Full Post

Synchtank launches Royalty Accounting Platform IRIS
by J. Jordan
View Full Post

See all Posts
AIMP Supports The MMA's MLC In a recently issued joint statement, the Association of Independent Music Publishers officials --National Chair and Los Angeles C …

View More

The Music Modernization Act H.R. 1551 (formerly S. 2823), the Orrin G. Hatch-Bob Goodlatte Music Modernization Act: The bill was signed into law on October 11 …

View More